I don’t think

“I don’t think I’ve seen you before.” I say.

“Is that right?”

“Are you Jae’s friend?”

Right, moron. Brilliant question, just brilliant. What’re you expecting, enemies?

“Yes,” she smiles, clearly amused. “I’d like to think so. Unless he thinks otherwise, I guess. In which case I should probably leave now.”

“Oh, no. Don’t!”

I don’t know what got into me. I am taking her joke too seriously and, basically, am acting like a desperate idiot. Anna laughs.

“You’re cute, you know that?”

She lightly squeezes my arm (or, to be more exact, my feeble biceps) as she says that, triggering a slow-mo replay of the scene in my mind, while the spots where her fingers touched me burn.

“Any idea when he’s gonna arrive? And the others?” Anna turns and looks around.

“Forget Jae. Let’s just hang out.”

Anna looks at me in surprise but really, no one can be more shocked than myself. I have never considered myself aggressive, or even remotely proactive. But at this moment, keeping Anna to myself in this little enclosed world of two for as long as possible is such a strong and sudden desire, it spilled out from inside me into words, even before my mind had time to process it.

“Seriously?”

“Just kidding, of course, ” I smile coolly – in the imaginary scene my mind is preparing me for, but again, something from inside me intercepts and makes me say:

“Yeah.”

Anna grins.

“Well then, let’s go!” She takes my hand, and pulls me along as we half-run out of the station.

Posted in red

Leave a Reply

